Very Little Change in Ellington

Most of the incumbents returned to their positions in town.

There will be very little change to the boards and commissions in Ellington after Tuesday’s election.

First Selectman Maurice Blanchette will once again lead the town. He will be supported by incumbent selectmen Leo Miller, James Prichard, John Turner, Lori Spielman, and Ronald Stomberg. Rachel Wheeler-Rossow will replace Laurie Burstein who did not run.

On the Board of Education, Howard Friedman, Tracey Kiff-Judson, Dale Roberson, and Michael Young will once again serve. Andrew McNamar will replace William Trisler who did not run. These candidates will join Dan Keune, Gary Blanchette, Ann Marie Hayes, Kristen Picard-Wambolt, and James Stoughton.

The Board of Finance will remain unchanged as Robert Clements, Michael Varney, and John Rachek will once again rejoin Richard Cleary, Jr., Mark Joyse, and Barry Pinto.

On the Planning and Zoning Commission, Carol Strom, David Stavens, and Douglas Harding will return for a full term, and Ricci Hirth will fill a vacant seat - a two-year term. They will join Arlo Hoffman and William Hogan.

The final two-year seat will be filled by the Board of Selectmen at a later date.

Former Planning and Zoning member Robert Hoffman ran for First Selectman, falling to Blanchette.

Mary Cardin, Mark Spurling, and Arthur Aube will all return to the Zoning Board of Appeals. They will rejoin Kenneth Braga and Robert Sandberg.

The Library Board of Directors will also remain unchanged as Mary Blanchette, Mary Clements, and John Halloran, Jr. return and join Peter Nickerson, Janet Wieliczka, and Jeanne Zulick.

To see how the numbers broke down, check out the .


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »